It Takes A Supervisor To Count To 22

31 01 2012

Funny, frustrating, and pathetic.

[Yesterday] I just got off the phone with a representative from AAdvantage, the American Airlines frequent flyer program. My parents are thinking about visiting us in Texas and they have some points that they would like to redeem for a flight. I wanted to make sure that we were within the 21-day window where there wouldn’t be any fees charged.

I call and find out that the travel has to be at least 22 days out. Okay. Does today count? Yes. Does the travel day count? Yes.

A Difficult Number, Apparently

A Difficult Number, Apparently

Today is the 30th of January. The guy on the phone tells me that the earliest I can fly is the 21st of February. I respond that according to their “count today and the flight day” rule, that would be 23 days from today. No, he insists, it would be 22 days. We go back and forth on this, and he doesn’t budge.

Then I find out why: Because the computer says so. I ask if he counted on his own and he says no. Not only does he say no, but he refuses to give it a shot. Supervisor time. Because my guy can’t or won’t count to 22.

The supervisor confirms what the representative told me: Specifically, that the computer says that the earliest no-fee flight would be the 21st. I patiently explain to her that 22 days from today is the 20th. She pulls up her calendar, counts in a quiet mumble, and asks to put me on hold. It’s clear to me that something clicked in her mind.

A minute later: “I’m sorry sir, you are correct. Twenty-two days from today would be the 20th.”

OH MY GOD. ADDITION!

posted by yair

Actions

Information

6 responses

31 01 2012
cyndi

ACK! I sympathize! I dealt with two of those yesterday! It’s gotten to the point where I dread making phone calls.

31 01 2012
Shira

Ha! I find my AA miles particularly difficult to redeem…especially without fees.

1 02 2012
Yair

Interesting. I’ve had pretty positive experiences with redeeming AA miles. Relative to other airlines they seem to be doing a pretty good job of not devaluing their points.

31 01 2012
Ely Rosenstock

I recently had to change a flight with JetBlue that I booked with frequent flyer miles. They tell me that to book for the next day would cost me double the amount of miles. I go online and see that the prices for each flights is identical. I asked how this is possible. Why would it cost double the points? They explain to me that they don’t have an answer. All they can tell me is that they’re system tells them. It’s double the points. I ended up booking online with points for the same amount.

Lesson learned: Customer service people are only as smart as the computers in front of them.

1 02 2012
Yair

Unless it involves counting to 22. In that case, a supervisor – a very, very smart and free-thinking supervisor – may be able to out-think her computer.

11 02 2012
Brent

I’m impressed with the persistence.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

