I Am The 1%

16 04 2012

I feel awkward writing this post because it doesn’t seem modest and may only serve to invite the “evil eye”, but…

Over the past five months, I worked hard to book a packed Faces of Israel tour for April, my busiest month of the year.  Yesterday I departed for over two weeks of teaching and travel around the country.  Because of my schedule, I will be missing several awesome Austin-based festivals and celebrations not to mention being apart from Yair, so I was kind of bummed.

Rather than sulking or sitting around my host family’s home on Saturday night, I went out and explored the University of Michigan campus.  I attended an original theater production and caught the end of the university’s annual African culture evening showcasing African music, dance, drumming and fashion.

Delicious Homemade Dinners

Delicious Homemade Dinners

I bonded with my super cool hosts, checked out their private glass-blowing studio, picked out hand-blown earrings and a necklace that they gifted me and ate a delicious supper of quinoa and stir-fried veggies before snuggling with their loving golden retriever Mack.

On Sunday morning, I performed* for close to 100 members of the Ann Arbor community.   In the afternoon, I checked into an Embassy Suites hotel room that is approximately four times larger than the RV, and I have a pool, jacuzzi, kitchen, television, hooping space, and free snacks and drinks at my disposal.

Ron Sussman, Artist and Creator of Stained Glass Art

Ron Sussman, Artist and Creator of Stained Glass Art

My schedule over the next three to four weeks will probably run me ragged.  Some days I have five programs at five different locations in just over a 24-hour period.

But these communities are great.  My hosts are fun.  I’ve been toured around Kansas City and gifted a KU Basketball t-shirt.  I’ve been taken to the Oklahoma City zoo and gifted a gold glitter-encrusted horseshoe as a memento.  I’ve caught an a capella flash mob, taught people acroyoga and enjoyed a vegan “Krishna lunch” in Gainesville. I am loved by my audience and frequently praised, which is a huge confidence booster. Heck, I get to make new friends and hug new people every day.

So, maybe I work too hard.  And maybe I’m not actually mini-retired at all.  But no matter how you slice it, when it comes to happiness, I’ve got to be the 1%.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*I have so much more fun with my programs when I think of them as performances. :-)

posted by ayo

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 04 2012
rv repair melbourne

I love the glass blown artwork! I want to travel out of the USA but I have yet to save the money to do so, I went to Germany years ago and would love to go back!

22 04 2012
ayo

Awesome. If you ever make it to Ann Arbor, check out Ron’s studio! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

