Indecisiveness

9 03 2010

Today, Jay and I received offers to staff teen tours with different companies for the summer.  We both were offered staff positions with company X, and I was offered a tour director position with company Y.  (This would be for a maximum of 4 weeks apart.)  Company Y has cooler trips and more growth opportunity (in my opinion) and I could probably bring Jay on with Company Y as my staff, but for some reason the idea of reporting to me doesn’t thrill him and he is less interested in the types of programs offered by Y anyway.  🙂  Both companies ask for an answer to their offers before definitively telling you what trip you will be staffing and what part of the world you will be spending the summer in, so we don’t exactly have a full deck of cards.

I almost wish that we only received one offer each to make the decision easier.  We may end up choosing to spend a portion of the summer working for different organizations in different parts of the world – a strange, but exciting prospect that we haven’t really experienced or tried since we dated long distance at the start of our relationship almost 5 years ago.  Decisions, decisions – we’ll see!

posted by amybetho

Actions

Information

7 responses

10 03 2010
Sydney

My husband and I had a long-distance relationship for 2 1/2 years (20 years ago), and I wouldn’t return to that for anything.

Just my 2 cents.

10 03 2010
amybetho

@Sydney: Thanks for your comments. Jay and I wouldn’t ever want to be apart for more than a few weeks at a time, but we also think that being married shouldn’t preclude us from the individual experiences we want to have even if that means sometimes experiencing them apart. I think that the key is making the effort to experience most of life together, capping the amount of time spent apart, finding a solid way of sharing those separate experiences and staying in close contact during our time overseas.

How often did you and your husband get to see each other and speak to each other during the long distance relationship?

10 03 2010
Sydney

Back in those days we had an LA-San Francisco commute to see each other, so probably only once, maybe twice a month. This was before Skype, so long-distance bills were not in our budget more than once or twice a week either.

Nowadays, a couple times a year, he or I may go off for a weekend or two on our own, sometimes a week. A weekend is fine for me, actually, I quite enjoy the separate time. But a week, that’s a little much for me now. Even though I’m having fun, I always feel like I’d rather be having fun with him . . .

10 03 2010
amybetho

@Sydney: I hear you. I think that by the end of the 3 or 4 weeks (should Jay and I choose to staff separate travel programs), we’ll be missing each other so much that we’ll really be ready for the intense togetherness of RV life. From one extreme to the other , but hopefully both will be challenging and rewarding experiences. 🙂

10 03 2010
Freely Living Life

What an exciting opportunity! 🙂

I look forward to hearing all about where you are going and what you’ll be up to.

As far as being apart, it’s only 4 weeks. Life is too short to pass up opportunities that come your way. Just roll with it. ❤ ((hugs))

10 03 2010
jayhorowitz

@Freely Living Life –

Our attitude precisely. Four weeks will be a long time, there’s no denying that. At the same time, we’re both certain that the four weeks will be great for each of us and that we’ll be thrilled to see each other when they are over.

3 04 2010
The Start of the Faces Marathon and Summer Destinations « Our Take on Freedom: Escaping the 9-to-5 Before 25

[…] check out different models at an RV dealership later this month.  In other news, I accepted the tour director position for the summer and received my assignment yesterday evening: four weeks of adventure travel, […]

Leave a Reply

