Spelunking!

17 03 2010

Our resort is home to a little known – but huge – cave. The cave is located toward the top of an approximately 100′ cliff overlooking the Atlantic, and most of the staff at the resort tell guests to stay away from the cave because “it’s dangerous”. That was a stupid thing to tell me because it just made me add “explore cave” to my must-do list. Come to think of it, they probably would have been more successful in keeping me out if they had told me it was boring. There are a few flights of rotted out and quite steep wooden stairs heading deep into the cave, but when you reach the bottom this thing really opens up. I couldn’t see the far end of the cavern and want to head back with a brighter flashlight next time, but below are some photos from a fun spelunking time! (Sorry, no cavern photos yet. It was dark and huge, and my flash + flashlight didn’t do much.)

Thanks to Amy for hanging out at the top as my rescue spouse!

Jay Standing Next to the Welcoming Sign at Cave Entrance

Jay Standing Next to the Welcoming Sign at Cave Entrance

The Hole I'm About to Venture Into

The Hole I'm About to Venture Into

One Flight of Stairs In...

One Flight of Stairs In...

Almost at the Bottom (I Think)

Light at the End of the Tunnel (Cave?)

posted by jayhorowitz

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 03 2010
Freely Living Life

Awesome little cave! If I had a flashlight I would venture inside to take a peek too! =)

18 03 2010
Adrienne

Looks like it was fun! I’ve done it once and loved it.

18 03 2010
jayhorowitz

Tons of fun! Exploring new places is great, and it’s a huge plus when the new place is part of nature’s awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

