Unbanished, Interesting Folks and Future Resort Gigs

21 03 2010

Following my “Banished” post, I made a recent comment alluding to my newly “unbanished” status on the resort.  Nevertheless, I thought that an update post was warranted as I was warmly welcomed by the all-male group this past week.  I have always been fond of the Grace Hopper statement that “It’s much easier to apologize than it is to get permission”.  In fact, it’s my high school yearbook quote.  So taking my own advice and heeding Grace’s words after winning the 20+ guys in my yoga class, I decided to speak with the coordinator of the all male group about my participation in the retreat and their activities.  I ended up joining the group for a fun filled week of water volleyball, instructional Thai massage classes, bead-making (photo of Jay’s bracelet below) and more.

Jay's New Bracelet

Jay's New Bracelet

To stereotype (but in a true and positive way!), 150 gay men definitely know how to have a good time.  The group threw themed parties every night and the entire week was something of a blur, as the only way that I keep track of days of the week here is by themed dress evenings and nightly desserts – both of which were changed for the takeover.  I made myself popular by playing costume designer – taking several villas under my guidance for the “White Party”, designing dresses, creating wedding bustles, wrapping white turbans/tichels and styling hair.  (Below is a photo of Jay all dressed in white. I’ll try to post a photo of the guys I dressed up at a later point.  I didn’t take any on my camera, but a friend took a few…)

Jay Pre- White Party

Jay Pre- White Party

We met really interesting people, from Florida socialities to practicing wiccans to the owner of Kristen Bjorn (Google at your own risk).  We loved the group and were loved by them.  All of the guests had such a remarkably positive attitude and supportive, uplifted spirits.  Each day there was an inspirational quote printed on the schedule including:

What is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life? -Mary Oliver

Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known. -Carl Sagan

There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle. -Albert Einstein

Jay continued to be popular, though he was good-naturedly teased for his insistence on remaining clothed while teaching.  The line that I gave him got a bunch of laughs:  The schedule said ‘Naked Astronomy with Jay’, not ‘Astronomy with Naked Jay’.

Being friendly and outgoing has continued to open a lot of doors and options for us.  We began discussions about potentially staffing future GNI retreats and Source Events programs and we were thanked publicly by the group’s director – prompting the resort manager here to thank us profusely for all we’ve done and ask us back for a future visit.  Separately, we had lunch today with a lovely couple who are close friends and neighbors with the owner of a top resort in the Cancun area that we’ve been eyeing for next winter.  Finally, a manager from the resort’s timeshare club was here last week, liked our energy and is trying to recruit us as high commission salespeople for the property.  Jay is hesitant about jumping into anything and we both aren’t looking for time commitments right now, but the interest all around is certainly flattering!

Just one week left until we hit New York – time flies!

UPDATE: I managed to get my hands on a couple of the ‘prepping for White Party’ photos.  Here is one that I can share!

Preparing Wolfy for the White Party

Preparing Wolfy for the White Party

posted by amybetho

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 03 2010
Rob

I once new a woman who vacationed in Puerta Vallarta during Canadian winter. While at the resort, one season, she acquainted herself with the timeshare staff, secured a job, and became known as a “the closer.”

She eventually started her own subcontracting company for the restorts selling timeshares, oversaw a staff of 150 and bought a condo in a tower on the sand. Not too shabby. This could be your calling.

22 03 2010
jayhorowitz

Anything is possible, but I am more than a bit sketched out by the industry, and the pitch to us was a huge load of contradictions. I felt like they were willing to say anything to make us accept and my impression of the industry’s sales tactics is similar. I’m sure there are ethical people in the industry, but to me a lot of it reeks.

Leave a Reply

