Getting Lost in Central Park

21 05 2010

I was downtown earlier this week for a meeting on the upper east side of Manhattan.  The train that I take to return to our part of the Bronx is on the opposite side of the city.  But I was wearing a pair of comfortable heels (an oxymoron?) and have always had an aversion to waiting around for anything – particularly buses – so I began to walk westward.

A few avenues later, I hit Central Park.  Thinking nothing of it, I entered the park and began following a trail to the West Side, enjoying the scenery on the way.  Forty-five minutes later I was still on the trail, cold wet rain pouring down on me and not a soul in sight to point me in the right direction.  (Realization: Central Park is HUGE!)  After changing my direction a couple of times and tailing a few cars, I made it to the other side of the Park (about twenty blocks further north!) an hour later.

I love finding new places and still don’t plan on waiting around for buses, but next time I’ll save the exploring for a less rainy day.

posted by amybetho

Actions

Information

7 responses

24 05 2010
The Wandering Cartographer

That’s awesome! In getting “lost” you “found” something you love to do, namely “discovering new places”. Good times! Very inspiring! :o)

26 05 2010
jayhorowitz

Wandering Cartographer,

I love the name – do you actually do cartography?

27 05 2010
The Wandering Cartographer

It’s all metaphorical hehe…but actually in the long run the name almost contradicts everything in that nothing can be mapped, only experienced deeply…incidentally…you know this is Benay, right? ;o)

27 05 2010
jayhorowitz

Know this is Benay?! No!

On that note, hey there.

27 05 2010
The Wandering Cartographer

LOL! I enjoy your blog very much! keep up the good writing!

9 06 2010
Chloe

I did that once! I was like, it’s a park, how big can it be? HA. It was also like 5 million degrees out. Good times.

10 06 2010
amybetho

Good to know I’m not alone there. So when was the last time you got lost? 🙂

Leave a Reply

