I Have a Guitar!

18 08 2010

I’ve been waiting for the right time to bust out this news, but there is always so much to share that nearly a week has gone by.  I suppose that now is as good a time as any…  I have a guitar!

I’ve always been more of the ‘dancing barefoot around the fire’ type rather than the ‘strumming on a guitar next to the fire’ type, but it occurred to me that I now have enough time to be both!  And what better environment to learn a new skill than on an RV trip through the parks?

She’s a 3/4 size Sunlite acoustic guitar and plays beautifully.  We bought her second-hand last week in Victorville and she’s practically brand new.  Jay is a really talented player and is just as great a coach, so he has been teaching me a little each day.  I have been taking it slow, but have learned five chords: A Major, A Minor, E Major, E Minor and D Major.

My Guitar!

My Guitar!

I don’t have grand ambitions with the instrument, but I am very excited to get some sing-a-long campfire songs and Jewish music under my belt.  My absolute favorite part has been strumming on the guitar and improvising fun and silly songs with Yair about what we did that day or what we saw around us or really about anything.  I won’t post any of these ‘songs’ just yet, but Jay recorded my first unintentional jam session on Saturday night which elicited some laughs.  This week, I am going to be working on the song ‘Clocks’ by Coldplay.  Wish me luck!  🙂

posted by amybetho

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 08 2010
Susan Blanchard

From what we heard around the campfire, you are already past beginner! Bruce and I are glad to have met you and are excited to read about your future adventures!

23 08 2010
jayhorowitz

Thanks from Amy, and likewise! Hope your trip back home went smoothly!

19 08 2010
barbara j. levy

love acoustic guitar music. Gedaliah had both (electrical) and i admit the electrical would drive me crazy. To make his mom happy he would play the beatles song blackbird. i would get so calm he had a few more minutes playing the electrical guitar. love your blog, pictures, and now video. stay safe, barb

23 08 2010
jayhorowitz

I had the same thing growing up! My parents wanted some ‘chill’ songs, and I wanted to practice what I wanted. Compromise resulted 🙂

Leave a Reply

