Hiking, Hiking, and More Hiking

12 11 2010

Although I’ve hiked more in the last month than in the few years preceding it, I’ve still procrastinated on writing about it. But my most recent hike left me wanting to hop online and share.

First, a few recent hikes that I’m proud of:

  • Seven mile night hike in Galena / Mount Rose Wilderness
  • Three mid-length climbs in the Hidden Valley area, including a class four descent down a 40-foot dry waterfall
  • Ten mile, 2600′ climb of peaks 7015 and 7016 in the Washoe Lake area
  • Ten mile, 2700′ climb of Clark Peak
  • Fifteen mile overnight hike to Lagomarsino Canyon

It’s the overnight at Lagomarsino Canyon that really got me excited. The canyon is one of Nevada’s most exquisite petroglyph sites, and it’s particularly well-preserved due to its inaccessibility. The rock art at Lagomarsino is dated to 2,000 – 5,000 years old, with some of the art possibly being as old as 10,000 years.

The hike in was pretty, but also pretty uneventful. I was happy to find water en route, allowing me to dump the extra three liters that I had brought with me. The weather was cool, and a dusting of snow coated the desert for most of the seven miles in. Getting to Lagomarsino Canyon requires a topo map or excellent directions. It is conspicuously not signed until you’re literally right there. I couldn’t find any (accurate) coordinates for it online, and the only directions I found were shaky. In order to preserve the site, I’m going to continue the silence and not post any detailed information online. However, if you would like the site’s coordinates or a gpx file of the route, please email me.

Lovely Terrain On The Way In

Lovely Terrain On The Way In

Now where were we? I was pretty stoked when I took the last turn toward the canyon, knowing that my destination was only 1/4 mile away. I also didn’t know what to expect, and once I saw just how many rocks there were in the area I became pretty pessimistic about my prospects of finding these supposed petroglyphs. Once I made camp, however, I realized that my pessimism was uncalled for.

My Pack At Camp - Still Keeping Things Light

My Pack At Camp - Still Keeping Things Light

My Tent Is Somewhere Down There

My Tent Is Somewhere Down There

The Lagomarsino site blew me away. It has a tremendous number of petroglyphs, whose mystery is exciting. It was great to be at the site knowing that (a) I wasn’t in a museum and that the rock art was made by people who stood right there, and (b) that experts still don’t understand the art’s significance or meaning, leaving the petroglyphs open to interpretation.

The Canyon Wall

The Canyon Wall

Petroglyphs

Petroglyphs

More Petroglyphs

More Petroglyphs

And More Petroglyphs

And More Petroglyphs

After exploring and photographing the canyon walls for a few hours, I descended to camp to prepare for a cold night. My experience with wet wood at Paradise Lake came in handy, and I had a roaring fire both at sunset and sunrise. (It was particularly useful at sunrise, as my thermometer read 18 degrees!) I loved sitting by the fire at the valley floor, realizing that thousands of years ago people had done the exact same thing at this site, with evidence of their presence right in front of me.

The Fire That Kept Me Happy, Warm, Purified My Water, And Cooked My Food

The Fire That Kept Me Happy, Warm, Purified My Water, And Cooked My Food

Guess The Shape Of My Tent (That's Frost!)

Guess The Shape Of My Tent (That's Frost!)

In other news, all of this hiking and climbing has made me a bit crazy. In the last three days I hiked around thirty miles, and my legs know it. Nevertheless, I’m writing this while sitting at the base of Rattlesnake Mountain, and the only thing running through my head is, “Hmm… the north approach would make a pretty challenging climb right now.” It’s taking a good deal of willpower to be nice to my body and not climb the mountain.

In addition to the photos in this post, check out my Facebook album from the hike. (There are 200+ other photos that aren’t in the album. I’m not a huge photography person and I almost didn’t bring our camera. Man, I’m glad I did.)

posted by jay

Actions

Information

One response

12 11 2010
Dianna

If there was a like button on this blog I would definitely be hitting it šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

