Working With My Hands

26 04 2011

Last week I made a wood bowl. This may sound dumb, but I am seriously proud of it. It looks like a real bowl. Legit. The kind you’d buy somewhere.

The Bowl, With My Lens Cover For Scale

The Bowl, With My Lens Cover For Scale

The Passover retreat that we went to in Georgia had a wood shop, and I signed up for an early-morning (10am) “ring bowl” class. The five slots for the class were taken, but the four other aspiring woodworkers didn’t show and I had a private lesson.

The Relatively Ugly Wood It Started Off As

The Relatively Ugly Wood It Started Off As

Woodmaster Paul

Woodmaster Paul

Drill press. Lathe. Band saw. Other things that could cut my hands off. All awesome, and with the guidance of a great teacher… I used those tools to make something!

Working about twenty times slower (really) than my instructor Paul, I learned to use the machine tools listed above and turned an ugly piece of Home Depot scrap wood into a work of art. In the process I learned that burly woodworkers frequently use the word “sexy” to describe curves in projects, and that it can be really fun to sharpen a knife on a tool that makes sparks fly.

My Name In Hebrew, Burned In

My Name In Hebrew, Burned In

The Bottom

The Bottom

We’ve been back in Phoenix since Friday, and I’ve been proudly examining my ring bowl on a daily basis.

posted by yair

Actions

Information

8 responses

26 04 2011
Cyndi

Your bowl is beautiful. I love thngs made from wood! I’m glad you made it out of the workshop with all your appendages!

26 04 2011
Shira

I absolutely love it! I love woodworking, and have a bunch of projects at home – but this looks like something you’d go out a buy in a store – really professional. Kol Hakavod!

27 04 2011
jayhorowitz

Cool! What kind of things have you made / are you making?

26 04 2011
matt

sweet bowl. I haven’t woodworked since 6th grade camp I don’t think. I remember it being very satisfying back then though also. keep up the wood work.

27 04 2011
Michael

I see a future in the wooden lens cap business which could then grow into wooden cameras.

27 04 2011
jayhorowitz

@matt – It was at a summer camp with a retreat center, so the “6th grade camp” thing makes perfect sense

@Michael – You develop the wooden camera, I’ll work on the lens cap

27 04 2011
tiffany

love your handmade bowl, what a wonderful project! amazing something that looks like it would take awhile could be done in one class..and lucky you with a private lesson!

1 05 2011
Michael

I’ll start on my wooden lens project tomorrow! : )

Leave a Reply

