Croissants, Border Crossings and Unusual Introductions

18 08 2011

Over the past week, I bounced around North America with visits to Montreal and New York.  My screening in Canada was a success, but a highlight of the trip was walking around downtown Montreal, where I said bonjour to every person that I saw (despite the fact that I don’t speak any French) and grabbed a bite at the most delicious croissant place in town.

Post-Croissant, Befriending A Local Candy Man in Montreal

Post-Croissant, Befriending A Local Candy Man in Montreal

After spending just a few days in Montreal, I hopped on an overnight bus to NJ on Thursday for a friend’s wedding.  Though the trip was eight hours long, it wasn’t all that bad.  I had the entire back row (3 seats) to myself and there was decent wireless during the entire ride.  The border crossing was pretty interesting, as well.  Everyone was forced off the bus to be ‘processed’.  I made the mistake of asking an officer what the craziest thing was that he had ever seen at the Canadian border, to which he responded:  “Ma’am, this is not the Canadian border.  This is the U.S. border and it’d be best for you to remember that.”  Oh, well.  I was quickly allowed into the country and though I was pleased not to be detained, it probably would have made for a better story.  🙂

Border Crossing!  (For those of you who realized that I was on the OVERNIGHT bus from Montreal, you caught me.  I snagged this photo from our April post about experiencing medical tourism in Mexico.)

Border Crossing! (For those of you who realized that I was on the OVERNIGHT bus from Montreal, you caught me. I snagged this photo from our April post about experiencing medical tourism in Mexico.)

The wedding on Sunday was a blast.  The married couple was adorable and snuck in kisses wherever they could (quite the accomplishment at an Orthodox wedding).  At Jewish weddings, it is customary to entertain the bride and groom in the silliest ways.  This is called shtick.  One guy thought that it would be fun to dance while sitting on a girl’s shoulders.  He asked a friend to give him a lift and she responded that she wasn’t strong enough, but that I could probably handle him.  Moments later, I found myself kneeling down.  The guy jumped on my shoulders, we danced around for the couple and then I lowered him.  “Hey, I’m Ayo!”  “Hey, I’m Josh.  Nice to meet you!”  A funny introduction.

Ladies At The Wedding...  I'm second from the left in the red dress.  Nobody told me that the wedding color was red (read: bridesmaid dresses!), so I confused a good handful of people!

Ladies At The Wedding... I'm second from the left in the red dress. Nobody told me that the wedding color was red (read: bridesmaid dresses!), so I confused a good handful of people!

More to come on fun experiences from this past week.

posted by ayo

Actions

Information

6 responses

19 08 2011
adidi

woooo i got a sekrit shoutout

19 09 2011
ayo

🙂

26 09 2011
Susie

Woah! I have to admit, I’ve been pretty busy, and I haven’t been reading your blog all that religiously – I just check it out every once in awhile and try to catch up. I was just perusing, and I found this lovely post! Thanks for the kind words, and I think I saw a great video of Josh on your shoulders – I’ll try to find it.

26 09 2011
ayo

You haven’t been reading religiously? Shame, Suz. 😛

Kidding, of course. Your wedding was AMAZING, you guys rock and I’d be totally down to see the video if you find it.

Shana tova!

x,
Ay

27 09 2011
Susie

Found it!! You have to watch a bit of bull-fighting first. 🙂
https://picasaweb.google.com/101001013201231986211/WeddingOfSusieAndMike#5640898715762878098

And shana tova to you too!

28 09 2011
ayo

Ha, that’s funny and you guys are adorable.

Leave a Reply

