A Question On Entering Month Two Of Veganism

12 10 2011

It’s been pretty easy, this vegan thing, and with a few small changes I’ve decided to renew for another month. Which brings me to the question of what to do with the non-returnable non-vegan stuff that we have laying around the RV.

I’m pretty inclined to eat it. I don’t subscribe to vegan purity and I like having some nuance to things. I want my choices to be logical and consistent. I figure that I’m not supporting the animal products industry by eating things that are already hanging around the RV and would otherwise be wasted.

So non-vegan soups in the pantry? Egg-containing breads in the fridge? A bunch of fish filets in the freezer? Sure. I just won’t be picking up more.

Thoughts?

posted by yair

Actions

Information

15 responses

12 10 2011
Brenda Auch

My thought is that it’s entirely up to you! If that is what makes sense and works for you, then by all means that’s what you should do. Personally, waste would bother me more than ingesting limited amounts of animal containing product. But then again. I’m not the “all or nothing” person I once was in regards to what I eat. If I was, that would change my decision.

13 10 2011
Yair

Cool. I wasn’t looking for confirmation, but I’m on the same page as you.

12 10 2011
cyndiandco

I promise not to judge!

Cyndi & Stumpy @ RVly Ever After

13 10 2011
Yair

Nah, judge away!

12 10 2011
frugalveganmom

Glad to hear the vegan thing has been going well for you guys!

I would eat the stuff you have around the RV… I figure, it’s already paid for, and if you don’t feel bad about it, why waste?

My main goal is to not support factory farming with my money, so I don’t buy products containing animal ingredients. But unfortunately veganism is not yet mainstream, so occasionally I will eat something with a little butter or cheese if it’s the only thing available and I failed to plan ahead… you are doing so much just with your current vegan experiment, it does no harm to eat the food that’s already there.

13 10 2011
Yair

I dove in today and had about ten honey roasted peanuts. It was pretty anticlimactic.

πŸ™‚

13 10 2011
Diane

I’ve been a not-too-fussy vegetarian for over twenty years. Eat it, I say! Since we’re talking about things stored in Arvie’s limited larders, the quantities involved can’t be huge. It would be a bigger bad to waste the food. Another option would be to give it away. Better still: prepare it and share it with non-vegan friends.

13 10 2011
Yair

You’re definitely right that we haven’t been shopping at Costco since we’ve been in the RV. Did Phil make you write that last part? πŸ™‚

13 10 2011
Beth Murray

Eat it.

13 10 2011
Yair

Done.

13 10 2011
Cherie @Technomadia

Since Burning Man, I’ve been on a gluten-free experiment of my own. I’m taking the same tact. I did a few weeks without it totally. And now I’m in the mode of (gradually) finishing up the products in our RV that contain gluten, but am just simply not bringing new gluten in.

So, given your objectives with your experiment.. I’d say that the same approach is indeed appropriate.

13 10 2011
Yair

Interesting. Looking forward to hearing how that goes for you.

13 10 2011
ayo

I’m more-or-less in agreement with you and most of the commenters, but would love for some of the folks who disagree and take a different approach to speak up. Diversity makes for better conversation! πŸ™‚

27 10 2011
Chloe

Sorry this isn’t a dissenting view, but I just wanted to mention that to my knowledge, Veganism, along with not supporting the animal industry and such, is about not wasting and making a small footprint with your consumption (of food and other goods). So, your options would be to either donate the non-vegan food, as long as it is donate-able, or eat it, and if it doesn’t bother you ethically to eat animal products, I think that eating it would be the best way to ensure that it isn’t wasted.

27 10 2011
Yair

Just finished some wonderful Asian honey tilapia that I found in the freezer πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

