Voodoo Doughnuts and Corey Cupcakes

17 10 2011

October is my birthday month, and I am a total sucker for birthdays. Celebrating a 30-day window takes the pressure off of making the day itself special, and who wouldn’t want an excuse to celebrate all month long?  Besides, my English birthday was October 10th and my Hebrew birthday is October 23rd, which gives me a bit of a spread to embrace “26”.

It’s been a delightful week so far, particularly due to two sweets-related experiences: Voodoo Doughnuts and Corey Cupcakes.

Good Things Come in Pink Boxes

Good Things Come in Pink Boxes

Voodoo Doughnuts is famous for having the most delicious, rich and creatively decorated donuts in the Northwest.  And they have a selection of amazing-tasting vegan donuts, to boot.  I walked into the Eugene store last Sunday evening, checked out the selection and asked if they had any special birthday discounts.  A moment later, I was serenaded by the staff and treated to a box of ten free vegan donuts and drinks.  Yair had called ahead to see if they could dig up some candles, but even he didn’t expect such an overflow of kindness and generosity.  I can’t fully explain why, but I felt so overwhelmed, confused and just happy in a “Did this really just happen?” kind of way.  Thank you, Voodoo!

Me and Aya With My Box of Gifted Donuts

Me and Aya With My Box of Gifted Donuts

Once our blood sugar levels returned to almost normal, we spent the next evening hanging and celebrating with our awesome friend Corey – who is practically a vegan chef. (If there are any TV producers out there, scoop Corey up for your cooking show.  He’s good!)  Corey made gourmet cupcakes from scratch, including the base, frosting and ganache!

Yum.  Yum.  Yum.  Yum.  Yum.  Sweet tooth, anyone?

Corey, Decorating The Cupcakes With Chocolate Ganache

Corey, Decorating The Cupcakes With Chocolate Ganache

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

posted by a cheerful and sugar-high ayo

Actions

Information

6 responses

17 10 2011
cyndiandco

I’ve read about voodoo donuts in soooooooooo many places! Will definitely being stopping by, when I am in the neighborhood.

I’m all for any celebration that is a month long! Enjoy and Happy Birthday!

Cyndi & Stumpy @ RVly Ever After

18 10 2011
ayo

Wonderful. Now for the more important question, when will you be in the neighborhood? 🙂

(Thanks for the birthday wishes!)

17 10 2011
Frugal Vegan Mom

Happy Birthday Month! mmmm those look so good, I wish I had one here with a hot cup of coffee… as it is I’m just drinking water and waiting for baby to nap so I can crawl back into bed. but seriously, YUM, a visit to the co-op bakery might be in order later today!!

18 10 2011
ayo

Haha, hopefully you’ve enjoyed a delicious nap by now and a co-op treat. Come to Eugene, and I’ll get you a donut!

17 10 2011
roamingbarbara

Happy Birthmonth, Ayo. Now I want a donut.

18 10 2011
ayo

Thanks, Barbara! Free donuts for all! 😀

Leave a Reply

