Climbing At Smith Rock State Park

21 10 2011

There aren’t many things that would prompt me to set a 5:00 AM alarm, but on Tuesday morning I was thrilled to wake up – after four hours of sleep – for three hours of driving and miles of hiking with ropes, helmets, and lots of metal gear. All for the purpose of climbing hundreds of feet up a cliff-face. Are you sold yet?

Smith Rock State Park is serene. The park’s tuff and basalt cliffs punch out of the surrounding flat land and the Crooked River meanders through the park. Smith is a world famous rock climbing destination, with over 1,500 climbing routes across all levels of difficulty.

Early Morning At Smith Rock

Early Morning At Smith Rock

Looking Down

Looking Down

Dan and I climbed Super Slab and Moscow, 450′ and 300′ multi-pitch climbs on Smith Rock’s Red Wall. Route finding on Super Slab was tough and we ended up bailing at a nearby rappel station that we found around 150′ up. Moscow was ridiculously fun. I led both climbs and Moscow offered some occasional exposure and an unexpectedly tricky section toward the top. At our first belay station I grabbed my cell phone to film a “Hey, Mom!” video.

When we topped out from Moscow and were looking for the trail down, we encountered a hiker who had taken a back trail up. Picture this: She’s cool-as-a-cucumber, hiking with a small bottle of water and wearing a black spandex top, a bright green fleece and black hiking pants. We’re sweaty, carrying two 200′ ropes, wearing helmets and harnesses, and each of us has around ten pounds of climbing gear on slings and hanging off of our harnesses.

We ask her for directions, and she points us toward the trail that heads to the parking lot. Then: “Hey, so which trail did you guys take up here?” :Long pause: “Umm…” [I point toward the cliff-edge around 40 feet away] ::Another pause:: “OH! – – – OH MY! THAT’S CRAZY!”

Ready To Go!

Ready To Go!

In the end it turned out that she pointed us in the exact opposite direction than we needed to go. Maybe we should have realized that she wasn’t the brightest, but our hour-long detour along the river was Edenic and we had the time for it. I’m already trying to plan another trip out to Smith Rock before we leave the area.

Pretty Stunning, No?

Pretty Stunning, No?

I'm Up There Somewhere

I'm Up There Somewhere

posted by yair

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 10 2011
hobopals

If you were my son and sent me that video, I’d slap you upside the head the next time I saw you. 😉 ~ Mother of Two Boys

PS: Be careful! I saw so many young people climing out west and I got a chill every time I saw them. Be careful!

22 10 2011
Yair

Maybe I’ll keep my helmet on for when I see my mom on Thanksgiving 🙂

21 10 2011
Daniel

Enjoy and take care.

22 10 2011
libertatemamo

What a stunning spot and a great find!
Nina

22 10 2011
Bernie

I think I like hobopals.
Yair’s Dad

Leave a Reply

