Sleepless In Aruba

2 12 2011

I never thought that I would enjoy not being able to fall asleep.

Two nights ago we went out to a buffet dinner at the resort’s Italian restaurant. There were plenty of vegan options and I stuffed myself well beyond what my body was happy with. Post-meal I went upstairs to our room and napped for 2.5 hours – not the most clever thing to do at 9:30 PM.

Ayo came back around 11:45 PM and gleefully awakened me. We hung out until ~1:30 AM, when Ay decided to turn in. I lay down with her and went into a relaxed thinking zone, awake and of clear mind, with time quickly passing by. I was really enjoying myself.

By 2:20 AM I was ready for a change, and I retrieved my iPod from the desk across the room. With quiet psytrance music in my ears I indulged in the multilayered tracks. Still totally content with my restful wakefulness, I enjoyed the music for 40 minutes before deciding to give myself 40 more minutes of reading time.

The time that I spent reading brought my mind and body to a state of sleep-readiness. The wonderful feeling of relaxed night-time wakefulness that I experienced, coupled with having no particular wakeup time, was a new and intimate happening. I can’t see it occurring frequently, but the next time that it does I’ll be pleased to know what I’m in for.

posted by yair

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

