High School Clothing and Sentimentality

12 01 2012

I can be a bit of a pack rat.  Ironic, I know, for someone who downsized from an apartment to 24 feet of RV.  But last week, I realized that I had way more clothing than I needed or had room for, so I spent three hours scrutinizing my closet to see what I could give away.  I wrapped the session with three bags filled with donations, but was surprised at how totally and completely connected to physical objects I still am…

That was the dress that I wore to Teicher’s house for the summer pool party! And those were the pair of short-shorts that I wore to Ariella Gutin’s BBQ that Gil Schwartz liked!  And this was the first mini-skirt that I ever got during my senior year of high school!

So Long, First Mini-Skirt of Mine!

So Long, First Mini-Skirt of Mine!

The stuff is in good condition and technically still fits, though the clothes are totally not as comfortable as they used to be.  So long, high school clothing!  May you find a good home with some person at Goodwill.

posted by ayo

Actions

Information

6 responses

19 01 2012
Tamar Dermer

Those are some short things! The pout is cute though 🙂

19 01 2012
ayo

The next time I’m in town, we’ll have to play dress-up with what’s left! 🙂

19 01 2012
Chloe

Being connected to objects is a human condition; don’t be ashamed. You just need to be able to distinguish between what you keep for sentimentality, what you can give away or throw away, and what you actually need.

19 01 2012
ayo

Wonderfully said. What are some of the older or more sentimental items that you’ve hung onto?

19 01 2012
Chloe

Not sure, I have a tendency to clear out stuff a lot. My dad is a hoarder (for real) and I think I tend to do the opposite. I do, however, have a large collection of stupid old photos from like, 7th grade and up.

19 01 2012
ayo

Amazing. I don’t think I’ve had a photo printed since my wedding over four years ago… unless you count a passport pic from last week. Enjoy the “stupid old photos”. If anything, they’re worth a laugh and a reminisce down memory lane. 🙂

Leave a Reply

