Ego Boost

26 01 2012

My mom always said that I didn’t need an ego boost (thanks, mom), but I totally got one tonight.  Let me set the stage…

We’re in Tucson for a Faces of Israel lecture series.  The community has me presenting four programs in three days.  It’s about five minutes before the start of tonight’s program at the JCC.  The room is packed with mostly senior citizens and the turnout is impressive with over 200 in attendance.  I am introduced to a woman standing beside me.

They Gave Me A Stage.  I Love Stages!  Tonight's Program At The Tucson JCC

They Gave Me A Stage. I Love Stages! Tonight's Program At The Tucson JCC

Woman:  You’re Amy Oppenheimer?  How incredible!  I don’t know what to say.  I knew we were having Faces of Israel in the community but I didn’t know that the director herself would be here!

Me:  Thank you!  I’m so glad that you could join us.

Woman:  You know, I’ve heard so much about this program.  I read your bio and looked up articles on you.  We’re so lucky to have you here – it’s really an honor.

Me:  [Gracious yet downplaying response]

Woman:  In this day and age with media everywhere, everyone is trying to make it as a speaker and make a name for themselves.  But you know what?  People can try, but not everyone can be an Amy Oppenheimer.  Indeed very few people can be an Amy Oppenheimer.

Quasi-Related: Honing Our Presentation Skills At Today's Astronomy Program in Tucson

Quasi-Related: Honing Our Presentation Skills At Today's Astronomy Program in Tucson

Holy sh**!  “Not everyone can be an Amy Oppenheimer”?!  When did I become a noun? I don’t delude myself into thinking that I’m actually anything special and I have more faults than fingers and toes to count them on, but damn!  Last night, at a private Faces program, someone asked me to autograph a DVD for them.  And tonight, this!

I am often really hard on myself when reflecting on how I use my time and how – if at all – I am contributing to the world around me. The bar in my family is set way high and I too frequently feel as though I should be “doing more” and contributing far more – whatever that means.

But to every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven (Ecclesiastes 3:1)… and tonight is the time to savor this totally unexpected yet so kind ego boost.

posted by ayo

Actions

Information

One response

26 01 2012
mopps

a bit of explanation from the home front: the bar was set way high bc you girls were able to so easily climb over it.

loved the pics and the post. you and yair are “natural” educators.

keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

