Back From Israel And Still On A High

22 06 2012

My ten days in Israel exceeded all expectations and were nothing short of incredible.

I spent the first weekend with my sister Rachael and her family in Modi’in, bonding with her kids and hubby while getting a taste of life in suburbia.  I spent the second weekend with my parents in Jerusalem, visiting friends, having quality time with my mom, checking out the Jerusalem Lights Festival and seeing a new and more vibrant side of the city.

Gorgeous Lit Domes in the Old City of Jerusalem

Gorgeous Lit Domes in the Old City of Jerusalem

My First Israeli Drag Show & Gay Bar

My First Israeli Drag Show & Gay Bar

Jewlicious Buddy David Introducing Me to My First Malawach Pizza

Jewlicious Buddy David Introducing Me to My First Malawach Pizza

But what made the trip was what happened in between: the ROI Summit for 150 young Jewish leaders and social innovators from around the globe.  The accommodations were posh, the workshops and speakers were genius and the people were energizing.

It felt incredible to be part of a passionate community of do-ers working to grow their projects, support one another and collaborate on future initiatives together.  There were late-night 4 am work sessions, evenings getting lost running through Jerusalem Forest vineyards and open-air pool parties with music, dancing and more.

Presenting!

Presenting!

Working on my Jewrotica Banner

Working on my Jewrotica Banner

ROI 2012 Summit (I'm in the 3rd row from the bottom, toward the left, hugging Ugandan friend Moshe)

ROI 2012 Summit (I’m in the 3rd row from the bottom, toward the left, hugging Ugandan friend Moshe)

I didn’t want to leave and still wish that it wasn’t over, but I’ve made some friends who are keepers and have a couple of exciting new projects up my sleeve, so stay tuned!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

posted by ayo

Actions

Information

7 responses

22 06 2012
roamingbarbara

Welcome back and glad to hear your trip was such a wonderful experience. That lit dome is out of this world!

27 06 2012
ayo

It sure is! Let me know if you ever make it to Israel and I’ll give you the inside scoop on all the cool stuff. 🙂

23 06 2012
danshula

Next time you go to Israel drop me a line,hopefully I will be there in between my travels.
I am happy that you had a good time.

27 06 2012
ayo

Yes, that sounds great. I am usually there around once a year, sometimes a little less often. Remind me what part of Israel you’re in?

25 06 2012
Amir G.

Now its time to CREATE 😉

25 06 2012
Charlie O.

So you want to travel back in time and do it again? I’ve been working on a TARDIS for a few years now… Still no luck! 😦

25 06 2012
Jon J.

Sounds like you had an amazing time 🙂

Leave a Reply

