A Taste of Paradise – Rocky Mountain NP

14 07 2012

Yair and I spent a glorious three days in the Rocky Mountains this week, and stole for ourselves a glimpse of paradise.  Rocky Mountain NP does not necessarily have the most jaw-dropping terrain of all the places we have seen.  But every part of the park was beautiful, serene and – at times – breathtaking.

On our first day, we ascended to the tundra and – at over 12,000 feet – felt like we were on top of the world.  But unlike with Mount Elbert, we didn’t have to hike 12 hours to get there!

Beautiful Rocky Mountain National Park Vistas

Beautiful Rocky Mountain National Park Vistas

Gushing Streams Flow From Snow Melt

Gushing Streams Flow From Snow Melt

Learning about the wildlife was fascinating.  In order to camouflage and survive in the tundra, many animals completely change their coats 2-3 times each year.  The marmot descends into such a deep hibernation that its heart beats just once per minute and its lungs breathe just once every 3-6 minutes during the entire winter season.  Wild.

Yair and I had a bit of drama in the park, but – if we were going to have a serious conversation – Rocky Mountain NP was one heck of a beautiful place to do it.

A Hot Picnic Lunch at Rocky Mountain NP - By Our Very Own Stream!

A Hot Picnic Lunch at Rocky Mountain NP – By Our Very Own Stream!

Nymph Lake.  Gorgeous.

Nymph Lake. Gorgeous.

Yair and I hiked to three incredible lakes and – after taking off for some solo hiking – I sang my heart out to the mountains for over an hour in every language I knew.  I tucked myself onto a rock ledge that was just off trail and out of eyesight, and many a passerby looked for the mysterious voice which the mountains had generously amplified with their acoustics.

We are now in Wyoming and have been exploring the magnificence of the Grand Tetons.  Between the Tetons, Yellowstone and Glacier, there will be plenty of beauty to see in the weeks ahead, but I hope to return to Rocky Mountain National Park one day soon!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

posted by ayo

Actions

Information

6 responses

15 07 2012
Em

The Tetons sure are beautiful! I’ll be on the look out to see if I randomly pass you by on one of the trails out here.

16 07 2012
ayo

Sounds great. Or we could just plan to meet up?

Not to make this stalker central, but I’ll be hanging at the Colter Creek Visitor’s Center in the Tetons for most of the afternoon. 🙂

15 07 2012
roamingbarbara

Oh good! You did my favorite RMNP hike – Nymph, Dream, and Emerald Lakes. Good choice!

16 07 2012
ayo

Yes, excellent choice. Every part of the hike was simply beautiful, though I may be somewhat partial to Nymph Lake and the views on the way to Dream Lake.

Join me next time! 🙂

16 07 2012
David E.

I love Colorado!

16 07 2012
J. Dane

I confuse RMNP with Glacier, but I confused a lot of things in those days. They were both great, except for the night the Girl Scouts were camped nearby and I ended up peeing on a bear. I swear there is no connection.

Leave a Reply

