Good Folks, Great Music and Gorgeous Sights in Montana

1 08 2012

Yair and I have happily continued our trend of finding rockin’ people, music, sights and parking on the road.  We spent the past eleven days exploring Montana – first in Bozeman and then in Glacier National Park.

Our visit to Bozeman was supposed to last just a weekend, but we so enjoyed spending time with our Burning Man campmate Sarge that we stuck around for a full seven days.  During that time, I presented Faces of Israel to the Jewish community and we danced our butts off at Music on Main, ate at the community co-op restaurant three times (delicious!), befriended Sarge’s crew and took Bozeman by storm.

The Boys Getting Ready for a Night Out in Bozeman

The Boys Getting Ready for a Night Out in Bozeman

After a swim at the “Bozeman Beach” that made me proud*, we said our goodbyes and headed north to Glacier.  (*I’m a doggy-paddle type of swimmer, but that day I swam across the entire lake and back, and then jumped in to join a stranger’s volleyball game despite being majorly intimidated.  Go Ayo!  Yes, self-congratulation here.  It’s okay.)

One of the striking things about Glacier was the abundance of water, and particularly the mini-waterfalls and streams that were created from snowmelt.  The wildlife was striking, and we befriended a family of mountain goats.

Icy Paths and Snow Fortresses En Route to Sperry Glacier

Icy Paths and Snow Fortresses En Route to Sperry Glacier

Ayo and Yair at Sperry Glacier

Ayo and Yair at Sperry Glacier

On our hike to Sperry Glacier, we trekked over ice and snow and Yair challenged a 12-year-old girl to a snowball fight.  (She declined.)  A highlight of that hike was meeting and befriending a rockin’ bluegrass crew.  Just check out the video:

Glacier NP forbids vehicles over 21 feet from traveling on the Going-to-the-Sun Road that connects the east and west sides of the park, so we used the shuttle system to get around on our first two days.  Both Yair and I preferred the east side of Glacier because it seemed less populated and less commercialized than the west side, but we made the trip over to meet up with two blog readers (and now friends!) Randy and Brad.

Clear Water Gushes Against The Polished Red Rocks

Clear Water Gushes Against The Polished Red Rocks

Avalanche Lake and the Snowmelt That Feeds It

Avalanche Lake and the Snowmelt That Feeds It

Randy, Brad, Yair and I rafted the Flathead River and enjoyed a wonderful dinner together on Sunday evening.  We are now in Idaho and I’m excited to get myself some potatoes!

If you happen to be missing and craving the national park spirit, I give you my crush of the week: Ranger Austin of Glacier.

He’s just a tad clean-cut for my tastes and regardless I’m not sure if he likes the ladies, but we enjoyed him all the same.  Hopefully, you did too.  🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

posted by ayo


Actions

Information

9 responses

1 08 2012
OurLifeExperiments

Aww looks like we won’t be running into you guys this summer! We’re still on the coast, but will be heading to Yellowstone in the near future. We were going to skip Glacier NP, but looking at your pictures, it looks pretty awesome. Maybe we’ll go after all! Happy Travels! M&S

2 08 2012
ayo

Let us know if you make it down to Austin at any point in the coming year. We’ve fallen in love with the place and will be making it home base.

Hope to catch you soon!

6 08 2012
kayakdov

Yah, I also randomly run into bluegrass groups who are happy to preform for me, it’s just that I prefer jazz.

What I mean is, that was really cool.

6 08 2012
ayo

Yay. Let’s create some music during our kayaking voyage and then go busk on Cedar Lane. 🙂

7 08 2012
kayakdov

Last time we were out on the water I sang for you. Did you think I was that good?

7 08 2012
ayo

For sure. And to add some flare, we can sit IN the kayak on Cedar Lane as we perform… We’ll be sure to bring in some extra nickels that way. 🙂

8 08 2012
kayakdov

If we grip the kayaks tight, the only way the police will be able to take our singing selves away will be on the patrol car’s roof. We’ll call our group The Urban Kayakers.

9 08 2012
Lindsay

This is amazing!! I’m going to be missing Glacier NP – Cory will have a boys’ weekend while I fly out of town. But I am crossing my fingers we run into a bluegrass band somewhere else along the road.

9 08 2012
ayo

We’ll send ’em your way! 🙂

Flying anywhere interesting?

Leave a comment