The Joy of Being An Extrovert

25 11 2012

If I had to choose three communities to be part of in Austin, they would be the acroyoga community, the co-op community and my choir.  I’m lucky to be part of these three communities in a real way.  But I’m also very aware that it is possible that I will only be in Austin for one year and, if that is the case, I am almost a quarter of the way through my experience!

I decided that it was time to start branching out, making new friends and exploring activities beyond my usual routine.  On Wednesday night, my co-op had a tremendous Thanksgiving feast with delicious food, abundant cheer and wonderful friends (30 in attendance!).  Everyone dressed to the nines, the table was set with flowers and candles, and the evening felt like a really special family gathering.

A Festive Thanksgiving with the Rosewookies

A Festive Thanksgiving with the “Rosewookies”

The Ladies - All Dressed Up - Flank Caleb (Who Was Crowned Thanksgiving King For The Evening)

The Ladies – All Dressed Up – Flank Caleb (Who Was Crowned Thanksgiving King For The Evening)

But by Thursday morning, the house emptied when most people left Austin to visit their biological families.  Rather than allowing myself to feel “left behind”, I made the most of the day with a hike to the green belt with my crazy friend Jes and an intent to go on an evening excursion to a new place.

My first attempt of the evening was an improv show at The New Movement Theater, but – despite what was printed in the Austin Chronicle and on the establishment’s website – when I arrived, I found out that they had closed for Thanksgiving.

A bummer, but not to worry as there was a back-up plan!  I took off for South Austin to enjoy live music and country dancing at The Broken Spoke, but – despite what was printed in the Austin Chronicle and on the Spoke’s website – when I arrived, I found out that they too had closed for Thanksgiving.

Yair had joined me at The Spoke and we decided to grab food at Austin’s famous Kerby Lane Cafe… but not before Yair convinced me to hop on my scooter and pursue him in a fierce chase around downtown… faux-shooting at each other with our hands as guns.  I’m pretty much a hippie, so the idea of a chase where I would be shooting at someone wasn’t my cup of tea, but it actually turned out to be a lot of fun!

When You Walk Outside, The World Awaits (Happening Upon a Cellist During An Early AM Walk on Town Lake)

When You Walk Outside, The World Awaits (Happening Upon a Cellist During An Early AM Walk on Town Lake)

Discovering An Austin Neighborhood Which Decorates With Crushed Colored Glass

Discovering An Austin Neighborhood Which Decorates With Crushed Colored Glass

Here is where the extrovert part comes in:  I was itching to go out and SEE and DO and BE Austin.  I was itching to move and sing, and asked Yair to look up a good karaoke place in the area.  And with that, I was off!

Until Thursday night, I had never been to a bar by myself.  Until Thursday night, I had never sang in front of people at karaoke.  And until Thursday night, despite my friendly nature, I had never walked up to a group of total strangers and asked to hang out with them for the night.  But, that is exactly what I did!

I was a little bit nervous, but I walked into a karaoke bar called Ego’s, took sixty seconds to scan the room and found a group of guys and girls who were laughing and singing, but also seemed chill (e.g. no excessive makeup or fancy clothes).  They adopted me, I – in turn – adopted another loner named Kerry-Ann who had come by herself and we all sang, and danced the night away.  I was nervous when my turn came, but I crooned Edwin McCain’s “I’ll Be” (Dawson’s Creek theme song) into the mic and it was exhilarating!  I’ll definitely be going back.

Adopted By a Very Friendly Crew of... SIBLINGS!

Adopted By a Very Friendly Crew of… SIBLINGS!

I Was Next On The Queue... And Felt Just A Bit Nervous

I Was Next On The Queue… And Felt Just A Bit Nervous

I hope that future adventures will include The Broken Spoke, improv comedy, live theater, blues dancing, a dueling pianos bar and volunteering.  Austin-aficionados, I’m open to any other ideas you might have!

‘Til then, I am grateful for being an extrovert as – for me – it makes the world that much more of an exciting, adventurous and spontaneous place.  Here’s to walking outside of our homes, to greeting strangers with smiles, to being open to what happens next and to adventures!

posted by ayo

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 11 2012
Sam Morrow

Your last paragraph is a common thread for many great people I have met.

26 11 2012
ayo

🙂

26 11 2012
Matty

Girl,
That picture of you in your black dress, is worth it’s weight in gold!! You look like a movie star! The blonde literally took my breath away!
stunning!!

26 11 2012
ayo

Aww, thanks Matt! So sweet.

Leave a Reply

