Baywatch in the Snow – A Jerusalem Anomaly

10 01 2013

It was anything but a usual Thursday morning, and I was sitting at the kitchen table watching the biggest winter storm that Jerusalem had seen in decades. The snow had been falling for hours, coating the city in a blanket of white powder, and I kept checking to see if public transport was running as I was due to travel south.

Late Night Snow Fights in Gan Sacher, Jerusalem

Late Night Snow Fights in Gan Sacher, Jerusalem

Jerusalem Snowpeople - A Middle East Rarity

Jerusalem Snowpeople – A Middle East Rarity

Then the call came.  A massive tree had fallen just up the street, blocking the entrance of our neighbors’ home, damaging the exterior and snagging cables on the way.  Moments later my Dad and I were off, Baywatch-style, running up the street in a near foot of snow to help them.  The branch was massive but, almost like those mothers who see a child under a car and channel some super-human strength, I braced myself against a wall and lifted one end of the tree.  We positioned the hunk of tree onto my father’s back while momentarily using the freed-up space to access two saws.  We hacked at the tree until it was in three pieces and then, through team effort, rolled it off of the door to clear the entranceway.

I couldn’t have done it without my Dad, but he couldn’t have done it without me either.  We’re three girls in my family and I was always raised as “his boy”, but – lifting up that branch and being needed for my brute physical strength – I just felt like a strong, strong woman.  Truly helping people is an incredible feeling and I give a hat tip to acro for making me strong enough to tackle this challenge.

One Section of the Lodged Tree

One Section of the Lodged Tree

I Learned How to Work a Saw

I Learned How to Work a Saw

I’ve been in Israel for three weeks now and I’ve just extended my stay by another two. I haven’t been blogging much because I have mostly been taking this time to heal and center myself, and spend time with family rather than broadcast stories to the world.

That said, I have had some hilarious and fascinating experiences over here that I would love to share, so I will try to post even just a photo update in the coming days. Happy 2013 to all!

posted by ayo

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 01 2013
Pat

Glad to hear from you. The snow looks like fun. The tree, not so much.

11 01 2013
ayo

True! The 24-hours-later story is that my left shoulder is now quite mad at me and perhaps sprained. But it was worth being able to help the neighbors.

Good to hear from you, too!

Leave a Reply

