Happenings, Hearts and The Future – Part 1 of 4

21 03 2013

“Happenings, Hearts and The Future” is a four-part reflection.  I believe that the latter parts offer the more interesting content.  Skim as you please!  🙂

I miss the practice of blogging – a powerful tool for reflection, sharing experiences and keeping track of where the time goes.  I am going to make an effort to post on a quasi-regular basis going forward.  Yair and I may create our own online spaces at a future point, but I’m not ready to let go of OurTakeonFreedom just yet.  🙂

So, what has been happening?  A lot!

Part 1 – General Catch-Up

Over the past three weeks, I kicked off the North American Jewrotica Tour, visited friends and family in New York and California and caught the last few days of SXSW along with my ROI community back in Austin.

A Student Rendition of the Jewrotica Logo Painted Onto a Canvas at Sarah Lawrence College

A Student Rendition of the Jewrotica Logo Painted Onto a Canvas at Sarah Lawrence College

Getting Ready for a Evening of Jewrotica Program in Orange County

Getting Ready for a Evening of Jewrotica Program in Orange County

My time on the East Coast was beautifully packed.  I met up with fellow ROIer Sid Efromovich and attended his workshop on happiness, hosted our first-ever Evening of Jewrotica: Bedside Reading event at Columbia University, dined with my dear “Eliyahu moment” friend who gave me sage life advice about leaving no regrets and snagged some quality time with family before jetting off to CA.

I was hosted by a local family (the co-founders of Jewlicious) in Los Angeles and it was really beautiful to be back in a family environment.  There’s something about the family setting that I very much miss.  The weekend-long Jewlicious Festival was held in Long Beach aboard the historic Queen Mary ship, and – when I wasn’t running around the ship exploring, making new friends and getting into trouble with ship security – I presented Jewrotica, taught acroyoga, stayed up until the wee hours learning and befriended one Rabbi Shmuley Boteach.

Being Interviewed on the Queen Mary at Jewlicious

Being Interviewed on the Queen Mary at Jewlicious

Havdallah on the Boat!!

Havdallah on the Boat!!

Getting Up to No Good on the Queen Mary - Just Before Being Chastised by Security

Getting Up to No Good on the Queen Mary – Just Before Being Chastised by Security

I stayed in California for a few days following the festival and kept myself busy with sun filled hikes, excursions with friends, my first-ever spin on a 300CC red Vespa and a super successful program in Orange County.  I could definitely see myself living in SoCal at some point!

I made it back to Austin for the last few days of SXSW, where I was comped a badge by a friend and spent 48 hours running around town, exploring interactive art projects and snagging free food, goodies and giveaways.  I even attended a film debut where the actors were present on the red carpet.  And – though I care little about Hollywood and am not necessarily a fan of Dennis Quaid or Zac Efron – I still felt compelled to snap a photo.  I guess it’s just one of those things that we are conditioned to do.  Funny, isn’t it?  🙂

Celebs.  Yeah, Yeah.

Celebs. Yeah, Yeah.

David Abitbol to Josh Sussman (totally serious): "You look just like that guy from Glee..."

David Abitbol to Childhood Buddy Josh Sussman : “You look just like that guy from Glee…” (totally seriously)

If the paragraphs above seem a bit glossed-over and summary-like, it’s because I prefer to focus my energy on the following three more interesting topics…

Continued in Happenings, Hearts and The Future – Part 2 of 4

posted by ayo

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 03 2013
Yair

Way to keep the blog alive! 🙂

22 03 2013
ayo

xo

Leave a Reply

