A New Chapter And A Move Toward Introversion

1 01 2014

Over the past ten weeks, I traveled through Montreal, East Texas, West Louisiana, South Florida and Massachussetts. I presented Jewrotica, completed a Jewish outreach tour to remote communities, sold my RV and motorbike, squeezed in five final performances and services with my choir, savored inspirational time in nature with my dear friend Topher and said a quiet and informal goodbye to Austin.

I joined family for Thanksgiving and Chanukah in Aventura, delivered a final Israel Bonds program in Boston and continued on with my suitcases to Tel Aviv – and five weeks of these travels were with dear friend David Abitbol in tow.  I successfully completed two 30-day challenges – one to get my heart rate up every day for five weeks (with a weekly break for Shabbat) and one to breathe deep and savor the scent of my food before and while eating it.  (Scent is so powerful and definitely heightens appreciation and taste!)

I moved to Israel, signed a year-long lease on a Jerusalem apartment, converted my living room into an acrobatic and creative play space and was cast as the female lead in a production of “Division Avenue” (my first theatrical return to the stage in nearly ten years!).  I joined a Jewish women’s tribal group called Soul Dance, prioritized both family time and expanding my cooking repertoire and accepted a job offer for an incredible non-profit fighting against domestic violence in the religious community.

But as all this happened, I didn’t feel a need to record or report it.  My life is still creative and richly flowing, but I am excited about a new pace of life with meaningful work and a semblance of routine, surrounded by close friends and family.  Though I am as outgoing as ever, I am embracing my transition towards introversion with open arms, and find myself both appreciating quiet and unscheduled moments and limiting breadth of friendships in favor of depth of friendships.

This blog has been an incredible chapter in my life and I may return to it,  but for now – as I place my writing on an indefinite hold – just know that I am well, I am happy, I am home and I wish the same and more for all of you.

Nine weeks in photos:

Aren't We All?  Jewrotica's Canadian Debut, November 2013

Aren’t We All in Le Mood? Jewrotica’s Canadian Debut, November 2013

"Jewrotica: Sanctifying Sex" - Presenting a Dynamic Session at Le Mood Montreal

“Jewrotica: Sanctifying Sex” – Presenting a Dynamic Session at Le Mood Montreal

Playing the Green Absinthe Fairy and Marking Halloween in Montreal with Megan and Grace, Formerly of the Westboro Baptist Church

Playing the Green Absinthe Fairy and Marking Halloween in Montreal with Megan and Grace, Formerly of the Westboro Baptist Church

The Outreach and Educational RV Tour Was Stressful at Times, But This Day in Louisiana's Chicot State Park Sure Wasn't!

The Outreach and Educational RV Tour Was Stressful at Times, But This Day in Louisiana’s Chicot State Park Sure Wasn’t!

Milking My First Cow On The Road - A Day on the Farm in Alexandria, LA

Milking My First Cow On The Road – A Day on the Farm in Alexandria, LA

An Interfaith Thanksgiving Service - Relishing My Time With The Choir

An Interfaith Thanksgiving Service – Relishing My Time With The Choir

Last Sunday at Wesley - Saying Goodbye to Dharion

Last Sunday at Wesley – Saying Goodbye to Dharion

David Snaps a Selfie Outside the Co-Op in Austin

David Snaps a Selfie Outside the Co-Op in Austin

My Introduction to Sfinj (Moroccan Donuts), With My Parents and Courtesy of David's Cousins in Florida

An Introduction to Sfinj (Moroccan Donuts) With My Parents, Courtesy of David’s Cousins in Florida

The Rain Before The Storm - Jerusalem Gears Up For Snow

The Rain Before The Storm – Rockin’ The Umbrella as Jerusalem Geared Up For Inclement Weather

The Times of the Messiah...  Israel Gets Hit By Its Biggest Blizzard Yet and Arabs, Jews, Religious, Secular, Young and Old All Flock to the Park and Joyfully Hop On Each Other's Sleds

The Times of the Messiah… Israel Got Hit By Its Biggest Blizzard Yet and Arabs, Jews, Religious, Secular, Young and Old All Flocked to the Park and Joyfully Hopped On Each Other’s Sleds

Ho Ho Ho!  Ha Ha Ha!  Hee Hee Hee!

Ho Ho Ho! Ha Ha Ha! Hee Hee Hee!

Christmas Eve and Midnight Mass in Old Jerusalem

Christmas Eve and Midnight Mass in Old Jerusalem

Bye Bye Blonde - I Went Red!

Bye Bye Blonde – I Went Red!

Though Sometimes in the Sunlight It Looks Orange

Though Sometimes in the Sunlight It Looks Orange

But I Can Still Pull Off Professional When I Need To

But I Can Still Pull Off Professional When I Need To

Best Pal David Abitbol + Homemade Matbucha at My New Place in Jerusalem

Best Pal David Abitbol + Homemade Matbucha at My New Place in Jerusalem – The RV is Missed, Austin is Missed, Friends Are Missed, But What a Blessing to Be Amongst Family and Close Friends in the Holy Land

posted by ayo

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 01 2014
Yair

Smiling.

2 01 2014
ayo

:o)

3 01 2014
Neil

I’ve been practicing that (food scenting) daily since I left monastery. I get stares, teases and curious questions but it’s just part of being present in such a busy, noisy culture. And always worth it!

12 02 2014
ayo

Definitely! Thanks for sharing your experience!

25 02 2014
Diane C

Hey Ayo, I’ve been lurking for way too long. Just want to say I got married, retired and am living my happily ever after. He even has an RV, lol.

I’m writing to say that I’ve enjoyed watching you grow. I know you will be happy with the results of this exploration inward. It’s entirely possible to be an introverted extrovert and an extroverted introvert. Yes, you can alternate between the two. Kind of like being your own yin and yang. I understand wanting to withdraw from social media, so while I’ll miss your voice, I am confident that you will do well and be happy.

Thanks for letting me share your journey.

Leave a Reply

